Rotimi Akeredolu, the Ondo State Governor who is also the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, has won in eight of the 10 local governments so far announced.

The results were announced by the Local Government collation officers at the Independent National Electoral Commission’s collation centre in Akure.

While the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Eyitayo Jegede, won two, the Deputy Governor and Zenith Labour Party candidate, Agboola Ajayi, has not won any.

Incumbent Governor of Ondo State and candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Rotimi Akeredolu, shot into an early lead on Sunday as the Independent National Electoral Commission began to collate results of the state’s Governorship election held on Saturday. After 12 local governments, the Governor, who is seeking re-election for another four years, recorded 178,854 votes.

His closest challenger, the Peoples Democratic Party’s Eyitayo Jegede, recorded 141,083 votes. 2:27: Results for 12 of the state’s 18 local governments have been collated with six more LGA results being expected.

Akeredolu has won nine of the local governments while Jegede has won three. INEC Ondo Election Results


Leave a Reply